Home | News | Latest News | Meet our 2018 Award Winning Innovators

News Search

Meet our 2018 Award Winning Innovators

Our problem solvers put their unique skills to the test at the annual PM Group Innovation in Action Awards.  Submissions ranged from technical improvements to machine learning, to design toolkits.

At the awards event, category winners presented their innovations to attendees and the innovation judging panel and the overall winner was selected. 

“Our innovations are tested in real environments. Because of this our clients can trust us to put in place solutions that immediately add value to their business. The annual awards help us to sharpen our skills and bring the fresh thinking needed to address the exponential pace of innovation.” Said Andy Rayner, Director of Technology.
“This year, we introduced a new category for Best Non Technical Innovation. From it, we’re already seeing a wider set of innovations that solve  problems in services and processes.”
Congratulations to overall winners Robin Mooney and Mohammed Osman. Their innovation was in the Best New Method category. It centres on mining existing project data and building machine learning models to predict key project outputs.  The calculation-based model will assist in making more accurate man-hour predictions for projects. 
Accepting the Overall Award on behalf of Mohammed and himself, Robin said: “We're honoured and really happy to accept this award. Machine learning and artificial intelligence will change our lives in the future.  Embracing our data will allow us to work more efficiently.”
The PM Group Innovation in Action Awards is now in its fourth year. With 11 categories, the scheme has a prize fund of €32,000. 
Pictured Top: Andy Rayner and the category winners at the event in Fota Island Hotel, Cork; 
Above: Overall winners Robin Mooney and Mahammed Osman.
Ger Shelly, Killian Shields 
New Idea with the Most Potential:  
Building Inspection App
Damien Bennett
Best New Design Innovation: 
3D Modelling of Defined Single Use Tubing Routes
Margaret Doran, Susan Walsh
Best New Service Innovation:  
Pressure Relief Design 
Ryan Byrne, Andrew Hey, John Meehan, Anna Hyrczak
Best Sector TLT Innovation: 
Pre-Prepared Toolkits and Methodologies to Improve Designs 
John Levesley
Best Technology Team Innovation: 
Fixed P&IDs for Flexible Facilities
Ciaran Deasy, Emma Conway, John A Flynn 
Best Project Team Innovation:            
Meeting and Collaboration App 
Sean Tully 
Best Individual Innovation:  
Optimising Bioprocess Design with Linear Programming
Maria O’Connor, Siobhan Palmer
Best Non-Technical Innovation:  
15 Minute Skills; Improving Knowledge Capturing and Sharing 
Ciaran Deasy, Brian Kelleher
Best Published Article: 
Reframing (Irish Examiner)  
Brian Tiernan, Tim O’Shea
Best Conference Paper/Presentation: 
Stricter Controls for Wastewater and Waste Gas Emissions in the Chemical Sector 
(IChemE, Engineers Ireland Evening Lectures)